The Otago Conservation Board has 11 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. The Board is currently carrying 2 vacancies. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Tim Barke of Queenstown (Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Tim has extensive experience in land, marine and aviation-based tourism, and is currently the General Manager of Lake Wānaka Tourism. He has worked extensively with community, iwi, and the Department of Conservation. Tim is interested and experienced in understanding taonga and seeking to achieve industry outcomes whilst protecting and enhancing the mauri and wairua of the rohe.

Dr Philippa Agnew of Oamaru

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2023

Philippa is a research scientist with Tourism Waitaki at the Oamaru Blue Penguin Colony. She has a PhD in marine science, specialising in seabirds, and has extensive experience in environmental management, including maintenance, population management, spatial planning and conservation. She has detailed knowledge around protected species and Marine Protected Areas, and was a member of the South East Marine Protection Forum.

Rebecca Begg of Clydevale

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023

Rebecca has practical experience in terrestrial and freshwater-based conservation issues in Otago; has demonstrated rural community engagement; and, strong understanding of conservation management and tourism operations in Otago and Fiordland. Mrs Begg completed the Department of Conservation’s Noho Marea programme (Te Pukenga Atawhai), has studied Te Tiriti whilst at university, and continues to work with local rūnaka and hapū representatives on achieving community and environmental outcomes in the region.

Taylor Davies-Colley of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023

Taylor (of Ngāpuhi and Te Hikutu) is passionate about the biodiversity and people of Aotearoa and Otago. He recently completed a master’s in science researching the decline of one of our rarest plant species. He now works as an educator and science communicator at Orokonui ecosanctuary working with children and the community to ensure a future for our unique and precious wildlife and wild spaces.

Tara Druce of Alexandra 

Appointment term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2024

Tara has a background in tourism public policy and research, having been a Senior Research Advisor in the Ministry of Tourism. Now living in Alexandra, she is a self-employed planning consultant, working on tourism, community development, recreation and heritage projects at local, regional and national levels. She is seen as holding highly productive and pro-active relationships in the community.

Dean Fraser of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2024

Dean is of Ngāi Tahu descent and was nominated by Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu. He is a General Manager at Silver Ferns Farms. He has previously held a variety of roles both with Ngāi Tahu Development Corporation and as the Chair of Ōtākou Papatipu Rūnaka. He is skilled in strategic direction, operational delivery, and risk management.

Neil Harraway of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Neil has extensive experience in nature conservation advocacy through journalism, film production and documentary making with Natural History NZ, reaching a wide audience across New Zealand and the world. He also has a strong understanding of terrestrial and marine sciences, business management and operation within tourism sector. Mr Harraway has engagement experience with tāngata whenua in show-casing their relationship with nature during documentary productions including series on NZ National Parks, and during Wild Dunedin – NZ’s festival of nature.

Gareth Hughes of Dunedin

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Gareth is a former Green Party Member of Parliament, and parliamentary spokesperson on issues such as oceans, fisheries, mining resources and tourism. He is skilled in governance practice, having served as a Select Committee Chair, has worked with a wide range of stakeholders, and has 20 years’ experience working with Greenpeace NZ and the Green Party on issues such as climate change.

Jennifer (Jen) Rodgers of Waitati

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023

Jen is employed by Dunedin City council as an Enviroschools facilitator inspiring, student-led positive climate action in 16 Dunedin schools. She is active in working with communities to increase knowledge of biodiversity and climate issues. She has a Bachelor of Science and a Graduate Diploma in Sustainable Practice.


Back to top