The East Coast Hawke's Bay Conservation Board has 7 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Rena Kohere of Gisborne (Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Rena (Ngāti Porou, Rongowhakaata, Te Aitanga a Māhaki, and Ngāi Tahu) grew up on whānau land at the East Cape Lighthouse, Te Araroa. She was manager of Tairāwhiti Environment Centre for 5 years and is now working in Cyclone Recovery at Gisborne District Council. She has been involved in environmental kauapa across Tairāwhiti with a particular focus on hapū and community led projects, Jobs For Nature, and regional strategy/ governance. She has experience working with local and central government, iwi and hapū, and diverse community groups and is a member of the hapū led Taiao Team for Whangaokeno. 

Doug Bailey of Hastings 

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2026 

Doug has had three years’ experience on the Board as a member and as deputy chair, with strong skills in nature conservation, community engagement and governance. Mr Bailey has a good understanding of the Treaty of Waitangi / Te Tiriti o Waitangi. He has been particularly involved in the generational review of the Te Angi Angi Marine reserve and will provide good continuity as this review progresses, and for the upcoming review of Te Tapuwae o Rongokako Marine Reserve.

Lois Easton of Gisborne

Appointment term: 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2025

Lois is self-employed environmental consultant at Kereru Consultants and the Secretary of the Waimatā Catchment Group in Tairāwhiti.  Lois has an MSc in Environmental Science and Botany and has been working in environmental planning and resource management for over 25 years.  She has a particular passion for riparian and stream restoration projects and a long track record of supporting community projects around this Kaupapa. She brings extensive experience in local government planning, nature conservation, terrestrial science and community engagement and is well connected in the local conservation community

Niki McCartney of Gisborne

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2026

Niki is experienced in governance, strategic leadership, and executive management.  She is a Marine Mammal Medic with Project Jonah, and a strong advocate for  biodiversity and the environment. She has whānau connections to Ngati Porou and strong connections to the local community. She is currently in her second term.

Dr John Menneer of Wairoa (Deputy Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2025

John grew up in the Hawke’s Bay region and, as an avid hunter and tramper, has exceptional knowledge of the region. He has experience as an environmental researcher providing the ability to analyse and interpret research data, and knowledge of NZ geology, landscapes, and ecology. John has experience working in high-level strategic and project management positions. He has excellent leadership skills and has developed effective working relationships with iwi, local councils, contractors, and other stakeholders.

Keri Ropiha of Pōrangahau

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Keri (Ngāti Kahungunu ki Tamatea, Ngāti Raukawa, and Ngāi Tahu) has strong governance experience at local Government level and is a member of various Iwi and community boards, providing excellent engagement with the community and strong connections with hapū and iwi on local issues. Ms Ropiha offers in-depth knowledge of applying mātauranga Māori and te ao Māori to strategic planning and has a good understanding of the Treaty of Waitangi / Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Back to top