Salvins mollyhawk nesting on Bounty Island
Image: Jo Hissock | ©


Express your interest to be a concessionaire at the subantarctic islands.

Process under s17ZG (2)(a) of the Conservation Act 1987 to manage the concession opportunity for the subantarctic islands region spanning five island groups and four marine reserves.

DOC has identified a growing interest in concessions for the subantarctic islands. To manage this there will be a limited supply process for concessions in the region.

The region includes five island groups: Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands, Bounty Islands, Campbell Island and Snares Islands.

It also includes four marine reserves: Antipodes Island/Moutere Mahue, Auckland Islands/Motu Maha, Bounty Islands/Moutere Hauriri and Campbell Island/Moutere Ihupuku.

To effectively manage the process, DOC has implemented s17ZG (2)(a) of the Conservation Act 1987 until 30 August 2019. This enables DOC to invite applications and/or encourage specific applications.


Pursuant to s17R(2)(a) of the Conservation Act, a person must not apply to the Minister for a concession if the Minister has exercised a power under s17ZG(2)(a). No concession applications for the subantarctic islands will be accepted unless specifically invited by the Department.


The timeframe for concessions will be confirmed when known. At this stage we are not open for submissions.

Express your interest

Email if you are interested in this opportunity. The subject of your email should be ‘Subantarctic islands – expression of interest’.

You should include your name and contact details (email and phone) as DOC will keep all known interested parties informed throughout the process.


Contact DOCs Permissions Team at

Back to top