The West Coast Tai Poutini Conservation Board has 11 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. The Board is currently carrying 2 vacancies. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Dr Mike Legge of Westport (Chairperson)

Appointment Term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2023

Mike is an Honorary Associate Professor at the University of Otago, and has previously served on the Board from 2011-17. He has been heavily involved in conservation, both in a practical and in a governance capacity. Most recently, he was a member on the Aquatic Working Group, and involved in the National Plan of Action for Seabirds 2020. Mike was nominated by Te Runanga o Ngati Waewae.

Katie Milne of Kumara (Deputy Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2023

Katie is a dairy farmer from Lake Brunner, a Director of Westland Milk Products, and a Director on the Predator Free 2050 Limited Board. She was the National President of Federated Farmers NZ between 2017-20, the first female president in the history of the organisation. Katie is experienced in leadership, advocacy, and governance in the agricultural sector. Katie has also served on the National Animal Welfare Advisory Committee, chaired the West Coast TB Free Committee, and was a member of the Farmer Mental Wellness Strategy Group. She has proven environmental and community leadership abilities, and has an extensive network of contacts within New Zealand.

Veronica Baldwin of Christchurch

Appointment Term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2024

She is the Senior Advisor to the CE of Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, a member of Te Kura Taka Pīni (Ngāi Tahu’s freshwater governance group), and an environmental consultant. She is experienced in freshwater management and conservation, and has provided technical assistance to the Freshwater Strategy mahi and implementation. Veronica has skills in resource and environmental planning, policy development and analysis, and knowledge of relevant conservation legislation.

Danual Cattermoul of Greymouth

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2024

Dan is of Ngāi Tahu descent and an entrepreneur who has experience in fundraising for a number of nature conservation organisations and can bring a strong advocacy focus to the Board. He also provides an in-depth understanding of Te Tiriti principles from an environmental perspective, which goes hand in hand with his practical work experience in dealing with Te Tiriti.

Diana (Di) Rossiter of Westport

Appointment Term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Di is an Environmental Scientist, providing consultancy services for environmental planning, consenting, risk analysis, and Health and Safety. She provides an expert science-based approach to conservation issues. Di is also actively involved in her community through governance positions at environmental and community NGO, such as the Kawatiri Freshwater Management Unit (FMU) community, established in 2019.

Dr Lisa Steenhauer of Greymouth

Appointment Term: 23 November 2021 to 30 June 2025

Lisa is the Learning Area Lead of Science at John Paul II High School in Māwhera; her teaching background provides advanced communication skills, with the ability to speak publicly on complex issues. Lisa is a PhD in Aquatic Microbial Ecology and a MSc in Zoology; her education and experience as a PhD researcher demonstrate excellent scientific knowledge and understanding, particularly of New Zealand species and biodiversity. Lisa was a member of Kawatiri Freshwater Management Unit, an advisory Committee of the West Coast Regional Council for freshwater quality, and has previously contracted to the Department of Conservation as a Technical Freshwater Advisor.

Ariana Stevens of Christchurch

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Ariana is of Ngāi Tahu decent and a qualified lawyer and teacher with a passion for te reo Māori, helping rangatira and whānau in their communities and sharing knowledge of te ao Māori and other kaupapa. Miss Stevens is currently studying towards a Masters in Te Reo Māori and will bring to the Board a strong sense of cultural awareness and knowledge.

John Taylor of Reefton

Appointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

John is a mining heritage consultant offering a unique perspective of both primary industry and the heritage space. Being a former Board member, he is seen as having a very level head, good skills and experience as a member and always brought that community connection to the table. Mr Taylor has extensive knowledge of West Coast, and is an enthusiastic supporter of the Reefton community’s preservation and promotion of the regions heritage sites and use for recreational activities.

Robert Wilson of South Westland

Appointment term: 14 December 2021 to 30 June 2025

Robert is of Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Mamoe – Kati Māhaki ki Makaawhio hapū descent and was nominated by Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu. Robert is a dairy farmer and seventh generation South Westlander, who grew up practicing traditional mahinga kai and mātauranga Māori. He has followed a passion for hunting and fishing all over the West Coast and, throughout his 40+ years of residing in the area, has developed extensive community networks. Robert is Chair and Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio representative on the South Westland Freshwater Management Unit, and Tangata Tiaki for Ngāti Mahaki (Te Rūnanga o Makaawhio).

Back to top