The Waikato Conservation Board has 10 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. Find out more about the current members of the Board.

Clare St Pierre of Waikato

Appointment term: 1 November 2018 to 30 June 2024

Clare lives in Pirongia Village, close to where she grew up, and is an elected Councillor for Waipa District Council. She is a Resource Management Hearings Commissioner, a former chair of Waipa District Council’s Audit and Risk Committee, and a member of Local Government New Zealand’s National Climate Change Advisory Panel. She has a Bachelor of Business Studies (First Class Honours) majoring in management with post-graduate specialisation in Advanced Environmental Management and Sustainability. She is the founding chairperson of Pirongia Te Aroaro o Kahu Restoration Society, which has won multiple awards including the 2018 Biosecurity Community Award, and the 2017 Green Ribbon Award for biodiversity protection for their kōkako work. She has over 20 years’ experience leading successful community-based environmental action and enjoys a good working relationship with Ngati Apakura and Ngati Rereahu. Her interests include gardening, tree crops, cycling and creative pursuits.

Flora Bartholomew of Te Kuiti

Appointment Term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025

Flora is a self-employed dairy farmer and holds a Certificate in Biology, a Bachelor in Horticultural Science and a Diploma in Business Management. She has five QEII blocks on her property and is a member of Rural Women NZ, Federated Farmers and Dairy Women’s Network. She has a Certificate in Sustainable Nutrient Management in NZ Agriculture from Massey University.

Robin (Rob) Chappell of Coromandel (Chairperson)

Appointment term: 7 July 2020 to 30 June 2026

Robin brings strong nature conservation, marine science, and governance skills to the Board.  He is a former DOC employee and spent five years working on the Chatham Islands. Mr Chappell provides good support to the Board Chair in the governance space. He also has a good understanding of the Treaty of Waitangi / Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

Dr Cadence Kaumoana of Pirongia

Appointment term: 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2026

Dr Cadence Kaumoana (Waikato-Maniapoto, Apakura, Te Atiawa) is the Chief Executive for the Public Health Association of New Zealand and has worked in governance for over 15 years. She has completed IOD Directors training and has appointments on Environmental, Education, Māori Development and Crown entity Boards, Cadence brings a range of diverse and specialised skills to the Waikato Conservation Board.

Cadence is an accredited RMA Commissioner and amongst other Chair roles, is Chair of a large whānau Trust overseeing several large land blocks in the Waikato-Maniapoto area. She leads a number of Taiao events that support the health and wellbeing of the environment using Kaupapa Māori practises and approaches.

Dr Shelley Langton-Myers of Pokeno

Appointment term: 2 July 2021 to 30 June 2025

Shelley is an Ecologist, Entomologist, and Lecturer for the EcoQuest Education Foundation Te Rarangahau Taiao. She brings a conservation science background to the Board, and is well versed in conservation issues, policy, and eco-tourism.

Charlotte Muggeridge of Hamilton (Deputy Chairperson)

Appointment term: 2 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Charlotte is a resource management lawyer. She has extensive experience in property law and governance, having sat on a number of environmental and community boards at local, regional, and international levels. In 2019, she was awarded the Zonta’s Women of Achievement Award.

Gaylene Roberts of Hamilton

Appointment term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025

Gaylene (Ngāti Raukawa, Waikato Tainui) was nominated by the head of Kahui Ariki (the Maori Sovereign, King Tuheitia). She is on the Board in terms of the Waikato Raupatu Lands Settlement Act 1995. She has strong governance experience and is currently a chairperson and member on several boards and trusts, such as the Raukawa Settlement Trust, Waipa District Council Iwi Consultative Committee and Waikato District Health Board Kaunihera Kaumātua. She has previously been on the Board from 2012-2013, also nominated by the head of Kahui Ariki.

Ngāwai Smith of Hamilton

Appointment term: 2 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Ngāwai (Te Roroa, Ngāti Hine) is a Māori communications specialist and currently works at the Ministry of Education as a Senior Regional Engagement Advisor. She has experience developing, engaging, and maintaining relationships with Māori stakeholders, and personal academic networks in Mātauranga Māori.

Back to top