The Tongariro Taupo Conservation Board has 11 members appointed by the Minister of Conservation. The Board is currently carrying 1 vacancy. Find out more about the current members of the Board.


Georgina (Honey) Winter of Raetihi (Chairperson)

Appointment Term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2024

Georgina (Ngāti Tangi) is an iwi advocate for communities on the southern side of Tongariro National Park. She is on the Ruapehu Health Network Inc as the iwi representative on a newly formed health team as a result of losing their local GP. She is part of the Ruapehu Leadership Group, on the Raetihi Town Revitalisation committee, and is an Iwi Project Manager for an Environmental Entity Development.

Clint Green of Tūrangi (Deputy Chairperson)

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Clint (Ngā Wairiki and Ngāti Apa) is a former teacher and tourism operator providing close relationships with the local community. He is familiar with the conservation estate in the boards’ rohe, having spent much of his life enjoying outdoor recreation activities in the Tongariro National Park and Kaimanawa Forest Park.

Karen Grimwade of Ohakune

Appointment term: 7 July 2020 to 30 June 2026

Karen is a researcher and writer and has extensive knowledge and experience in management planning and has been an active member of the Board over the past three years.  She has taken a leadership role in the CMS Review work, which the Board considers a high priority in the coming years. The work currently underway to develop a CMS in partnership with tangata whenua requires consistency and knowledge, and her continued involvement is important. Karen also has specialist historic knowledge. She has previously worked for the Department of Conservation in Tongariro as a Conservation Officer and has a Masters in Cultural Heritage Management.

Hannah Rainforth of Whanganui

Appointment term: 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2026

Hannah (Te Āti Haunui-a- Pāpārangi, Ngāti Hinemanu, Ngāti Hauiti, and Ngāti Rangi) is the Ngā Waihua o Paerangi Trust nominee for the Board. She works as a Kaupapa Taiao Specialist with Kahu Environmental Ltd and has wide experience in iwi-led research on fish, kōura and kākahi populations, iwi-led ecological restoration plans, iwi and hapū-led freshwater monitoring plans and projects, iwi values in the national policy space, and communication between science and iwi groups.

Michael Richardson of Taupō

Apointment term: 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2025

Michael offers a background in geotechnical and structural engineering, with extensive experience in wastewater and stormwater including stability and issue assessments on Public Conservation Land. He is well connected with the local community being involved with a number of conservation groups including Greening Taupo, Kiwis for Kiwi, Forest and Bird, and as a volunteer on many Taupō-based Predator Free Projects. Mr Richardson is also well connected in the Alpine/Skiing community, being involved in the management of the Alpine Club Hut.

Kylie Simpson of Ātiamuri

Appointment term: 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2024

Kylie works for the Central North Island Sika Foundation Whio Recovery Project. She has a Diploma in Environmental Management, is a keen hunter, and has been involved in practical conservation initiatives. Ms Simpson was nominated by Game Animal Council member and Sika Foundation President, John Cook.

Sir Tumu Te Heuheu of Taupō

Appointment term: life member since 1 September 1998

Tumu is Paramount Chief of Ngāti Tūwharetoa and is is a direct descendant of Horonuku Te Heuheu who in 1887, as Paramount Chief of Ngāti Tūwharetoa, tukua the mountains of Tongariro to the people of New Zealand. He is Chairperson of Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board, Lake Taupō Forest Trust, and Lake Rotoaira Forest Trust. He sits on many national boards as either chair or a member. In the 2004/2005 honours list he was made a Distinguished Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit. As New Zealand’s delegate to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee he was elected Chairperson in 2006.

Hinemoa Wanikau of Tūrangi

Appointment Term: 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2024

Hinemoa (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Whakaue, and Te Arawa) provides administration and governance servicing for Ngāti Tūwharetoa, and has a background in whanau, hapū and marae advocacy. She is actively involved in facilitating education, social services and other community events in the Turangi Tongariro district.

Te Ngaehe Wanikau of Tūrangi

Appointment term: 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025

Te Ngaehe is of Ngāti Tūwharetoa descent and is a nominated by Te Kotahitanga o Ngāti Tūwharetoa. He has experience in environmental policy, planning and analysis, and consultation with local governments and authorities. His particular interest is in providing a cultural perspective to conservation board deliberations. His outdoor recreation interests are fishing and food gathering.

Martin Wikaira of Turangi

Appointment term: 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2026

Martin (Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāpuhi Nui Tonu, and Te Hikitū hapū) is the Divisional Manager of the Māori Policy Unit at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade NZ (MFAT). Mr Wikaira has extensive experience in senior Māori management positions and knowledge of land issues pertinent to iwi, hapū and whānau.



Back to top